Kaleidoscope is an exciting and eclectic album that delights the listener with four songs that are the product of a songwriting collaboration project between Hilary Scott (Hilary Renee Helm) and other high-caliber talent; plus the international-award-winning song Hilary wrote for her husband. Kaleidoscope showcases Hilary Scott’s distinctive voice (described by Italian producer Euro Ferrari as “absolutely extraordinary in its emotional greatness”), Matthew Wilder’s exceptional production talent, and the genius of the songwriters: Hilary Scott, Matthew Wilder, and legends Angela Kaset (“Something In Red”) and John Goodwin (co-writer of songs for the movie Crazy Heart).

Just A Shame

On four songs Hilary Scotts lush vocals are backed up by some of Nashville’s finest musicians: Gary Lunn (Dolly Parton, Peter Cetera, Montgomery Gentry) on bass, Jerry Kimbrough (Kenny Rogers, Ronnie Milsap) on guitars, Lonnie Wilson (Brooks & Dunn, Faith Hill, Rascal Flatts) on drums, and Matt Wilder on guitars, keys, and drum programming. Backing vocals were provided by Matt Wilder on several songs and John Goodwin on “Free Country”. Four of the five tracks were recorded, produced, engineered and mixed by Matt Wilder, who remixed two tracks and remastered all five for this album.  “And Just” was recorded and produced by renowned producer Euro Ferrari, Rome, Italy,  with Hilary Scott providing vocals, backing vocals and acoustic guitar and instrumentation/programming provided by Euro Ferrari.

The eclectic tracks on Kaleidoscope include: “Just A Shame” (written by Scott and Wilder): a reflection on personal heartbreak and enhanced by Scott’s sultry depiction of the lyrics; “Almost Home“ (Kaset, Scott and Wilder) which pulls the listener into the dreamy world of falling in love; “Too Much Is Not Enough“ (Goodwin, Scott and Wilder): a forceful pop song about empowerment despite any obstacle; and “And Just”: an award-winning and authentic love story which won the International Division at Festival Degli Autori in Sanremo Italy. The final track, “Free Country” (Goodwin, Scott and Wilder) is a unique dance song that will intoxicate the listener with its combination of Spanish lyrics, energetic horns, catchy hooks, and undeniable “danceability”!

These songs were written and recorded earlier, but the global pandemic provided the opportunity to revisit the songs, remix two, and remaster all of them. They are delivered into the world with fresh energy in the collection that is Kaleidoscope! It is almost as though they were waiting for the perfect time to make their entrance.

Hobo On The Tracks (UK):  “Kaleidoscope is a sultry, soothing, incredibly sexy, exciting and eclectic album from Hilary Scott.  Beautifully produced  by Matthew Wilder (who also adds into the mix backing vocals, guitars, keys and drum programming) the songs here soar and swoop, fly high and produce a powerful blend of Americana…….Mind’s blown – what a great EP this is…”

Stefan Meekers, Keys and Chords (Belgium) says: “With a fresh approach, [Hilary] introduces us to that eclectic musical landscape. And her sultry voice intonation is the common thread through the songs. Great stuff..!”

Chris Spector, Midwest Records:  HILARY SCOTT/Kaleidoscope: Kind of a personal greatest hits set…. in which she was invited to collaborate with others which she normally doesn’t do. The pop flavored songs pretty much sat around for a decade until being let out of the drawer for a contemporary remix. Scott shows she adapts well to any environment.”

Ian D. Hall, Liverpool Sound and Vision:  “…for the exceptional Hilary Scott, her latest E.P. is one in which the combination of her vision, working alongside one of the finest producers around, the ability to push beyond one’s comfort zone is of paramount success and a realisation that there are no boundaries in any artistic pursuit.”

All Reviews

Hilary Scott — Kaleidoscope
Release date : Jun. 25, 2021
Label : Belltown Records, Inc.


  1. Just A Shame (2020 Remaster)
  2. Almost Home (2020 Remix, Remaster)
  3. Too Much Is Not Enough (2020 Remaster)
  4. And Just (2020 Remaster)
  5. Free Country (2020 Remix, Remaster)